Menu
STORAGE BUYER'S GUIDE

How much storage do you need on an E-Ink tablet?

For most people, 32GB is enough for years of handwritten notes, ebooks and a practical PDF library. Choose 64GB when you keep large scanned documents, comics, audio or Android apps offline. Buy expandable storage when the tablet needs to carry an archive, not just your current work.

By Yeinks8 min read
Decision guide showing 16GB for light use, 32GB for most note-taking, 64GB for large files and apps, and microSD for an offline archive
Storage should follow your offline library. The operating system means usable space is always lower than the number on the box. Illustration: Yeinks.

THE SHORT ANSWER

32GB is the sensible default. Storage expansion is the useful upgrade.

Buy 16GB only for a deliberately small library. It works for ebooks, handwritten notebooks and a rotating set of documents, but leaves less room for bulky scanned PDFs and audio. Choose 32GB for ordinary note-taking and document work. Move to 64GB if you use Android apps, keep many image-heavy PDFs or dislike clearing files.

A microSD slot changes the decision more than another fixed 32GB. Supernote Manta and BOOX Note Air6 C can accept cards up to 2TB according to their manufacturers. That makes them better fits for offline archives, although a removable card is not a backup.

HOW THIS GUIDE WAS MADE

We compared advertised capacity, usable space and expansion.

Yeinks checked current manufacturer specifications and support pages on October 11, 2026. We have not filled these devices or measured their file capacity ourselves. File sizes vary dramatically, so this guide avoids promises such as a fixed number of PDFs. Amazon is unusually specific about user-available storage; other makers mainly publish the larger advertised capacity.

CHOOSE YOUR TIER

What 16GB, 32GB and 64GB mean in real use

16GBLIGHT LIBRARY

Enough for a reading-first device, handwritten notes and a small working set of PDFs. Amazon says its 16GB Kindle Scribe without a front light gives the user about 10GB after system space. That is the useful number to plan around.

64GBHEAVY FILES AND APPS

Worth choosing for large scanned PDFs, comics, audiobooks or a BOOX app library. Amazon lists about 52.19GB as user-available on its 64GB third-generation Scribe, which shows why advertised and usable capacity should not be treated as equal.

A clean text ebook may be tiny, while a scanned textbook or illustrated document can be hundreds of megabytes. Check the size of ten files you genuinely use, then multiply by the number you want offline. That is more useful than a generic “thousands of books” claim.

CURRENT EXAMPLES

Storage on six E-Ink tablets

DeviceAdvertised storageUser-available spaceExpansionBest fit
Kindle Scribe without front light16GBAbout 10GBNot advertisedLight reading, notes and a small document library
Supernote Manta32GBLess than 32GBmicroSD up to 2TBNotes and PDFs, with a card for a large local archive
Kindle Scribe (3rd generation)32GB or 64GBAbout 23.43GB or 52.19GBNot advertisedChoose 64GB for many large documents or audio
reMarkable Paper Pro64GBNot statedNot advertisedPlenty for focused notes and PDF review
BOOX Go 10.3 Gen II64GBNot statedNot advertisedApps, books and documents on a fixed-capacity model
BOOX Note Air6 C64GBNot statedmicroSD up to 2TBAndroid apps plus a large offline PDF or comics library

“Not advertised” means the cited product specification does not offer a card slot as a storage feature. It does not include cloud storage. Capacity and regional configurations can change.

FIXED STORAGE

64GB is generous, but it cannot grow later.

reMarkable Paper Pro and BOOX Go 10.3 Gen II both advertise 64GB. For focused handwritten notes and ordinary PDF review, that is comfortably above our 32GB default. The downside is not immediate capacity. It is that the specification does not advertise removable storage if your needs grow.

Kindle Scribe gives buyers a clearer choice. The third-generation model comes in 32GB and 64GB configurations, while the model without a front light uses 16GB. Pay for 64GB when you already know that large personal documents, audiobooks or an offline library are central to the purchase. Otherwise, storage alone should not push you into the more expensive configuration.

Official image of current Kindle Scribe models
Current Kindle Scribe models cover 16GB, 32GB and 64GB tiers. Official image: Amazon.

BEFORE YOU BUY

Use a five-minute storage check

  1. Open the folder you will actually carry. Check the total size of your active PDFs, ebooks and reference files.
  2. Add app space. On BOOX, include downloaded app content, audio, caches and offline cloud folders.
  3. Plan with usable storage. Do not spend every advertised gigabyte. The operating system, updates and temporary files need room.
  4. Decide what stays offline. Keeping this semester or current project on the tablet needs far less space than carrying a lifetime archive.
  5. Choose a backup route. USB, desktop sync, cloud storage or a second drive protects files. A larger tablet does not.

BOTTOM LINE

Buy 32GB for the work in front of you, 64GB for heavy files, and microSD for an archive.

Most note-takers do not need to choose a tablet by storage first. Screen size, writing tools, file transfer and export matter more once you reach 32GB. A 16GB model is reasonable when reading and light notes are the whole job. A fixed 64GB model gives breathing room. Expandable storage is the strongest long-term option for people who keep many large documents offline.

If you are still comparing the wider trade-offs, start with our best E-Ink tablets for note-taking, then use the storage check above to choose the right configuration.

Primary sources checked

Checked October 11, 2026. Manufacturers describe their own products. Storage configurations, available capacity and supported card sizes can change.

AmazonKindle model identification and user-available storage ↗reMarkablePaper Pro specifications and 64GB internal storage ↗SupernoteManta specifications, 32GB storage and microSD expansion ↗BOOXGo 10.3 Gen II specifications and 64GB storage ↗BOOXNote Air6 C specifications and storage expansion ↗SupernoteManta and Nomad release notes, including microSD behavior ↗